Using Self Check-In

Prev Next

Marlin GTX enables customers to check in to their bookings online.

Stores send check-in reminders by email or SMS with a link to the self check-in page.

Image

Customers use the link to review and update their booking details, answer the store's check-in questions and sign the privacy policy.

Customers then check in when they drop off their vehicle.

Check-in updates, including notes, answers and signatures, are saved to the booking in GTX.

Stores can also view and send in using the Marlin web portal.

To enable self-check in in your GTX system, Marlin GTX.

Once enabled, see the Self Check-In Set Up help guide for further configuration options.

Sending Check-In Reminders

Check-in reminders can be sent manually for a single booking, when running the end of day or using Bulk Messages.

A check-in reminder contains the link to the customer's self check-in page.

Reminders can be sent to the customer's mobile or email, as configured in the Marlin web portal.

link?

End of Day Reminders

Periodic > End of Period

Check-in reminders for the next day's bookings are sent when running the End of Day close-off.

Image

To send check-in reminders at end of day:

  • Make sure Send Messages is ticked
  • Click Start to send

To check messages before sending:

  • Click the Message List button to the right
  • Click on the Booking Reminder Messages tab at the bottom-right
    • Use checkboxes to select which messages to send or exclude
    • Individual messages that have already been sent will be excluded by default
    • Customers with multiple messages are highlighted in bold
    • The Status column shows the current reminder status of each booking

Image

The messages are sent as the first step of the end of day process.

A Done window shows when all messages have been sent.

Image

Individual Reminders

Individual check-in reminders can be sent from the Business Planner.

Use this option for customers who:

  • Are booked on the same day you are sending out the reminder
  • Or who missed the automated reminder from the previous End of Day

Image

To send an individual check-in reminder:

  • Right-click the booking in the Business Planner
  • Click Send or Schedule a Check-In Reminder

Image

In the Booking Confirmation Reminder pop-up that opens:

  • Check the Contact, Vehicle, Mobile and Email details are correct
  • Make sure Send a check-in reminder is ticked
  • Click OK

Bulk Reminders

Use this option to send multiple check-in reminders without running the End of Day close-off.

This suits stores that send reminders first thing in the morning of the booking.

Image

To send bulk check-in reminders:

  • Click Bulk Messages at the bottom-right of the Business Planner Task list

Image

In the Bulk messages pop-up that opens:

  • Click on the Booking Reminder Messages tab
  • Set the date range at the top, if required
  • Use the checkboxes to select which customers to send reminders to
    • The Status column shows if a reminder has been sent or the customer has checked in
    • Click Select All (bottom-left) to tick every customer
    • Click Select None (bottom-left) to clear every tick
  • Click Send (bottom-right)

Checking Reminder Statuses

The Booking Confirmation and reminder pop-up shows the current status of a booking.

Image

To check the status of a check-in reminder:

  • Right-click the booking in the Business Planner
  • Click Send or schedule a check-in reminder
  • The status is shown below the Send a booking reminder checkbox, with the date and time when the customer has checked in

Image

Customer Check-Ins

To check in, customers click the link in their reminder to open the self check-in page.

Image

To check in:

  • Check Your Details are correct
    • Update anything that needs changing
    • Enter any extra information in Customer notes
  • Answer the required questions
  • Confirm your marketing preferences
  • Sign the privacy policy
  • Click Check in

Customers can save their details without checking in, by clicking on the Save My Changes for Later button at the bottom of the page.

Booking Details

The Your Booking section at the top of the check-in page shows the store and booking details from GTX, which cannot be edited.

Image

Customers can use the Your Details section below to edit the customer's details and add any extra notes to their booking.

Image

Changes to customer details and notes entered in Customer notes are updated in GTX once saved (even before checking in).

Check-In Questions

The A few questions section below shows the store's check-in questions.

Image

These questions are completely customisable and can be answered with Yes or No or with free text.

link

Customers can also use the Staying in touch section below to update their communication preferences.

Answers to these questions and marketing questions are updated in GTX once saved (even before checking in).

Checking In

Check in is unavailable until the customer has signed the privacy policy at the bottom of the check-in page.

Image

To sign:

  • Click the Privacy Policy link to read the policy
  • Draw the signature in the Customer Signature box
  • Click Check in
Note

Customers can also click How to check in & after-hours access above the Check-In button to view the store's check-in instructions.

Image

The name and content of this link is editable.

After-hours check-in instructions can be set by each store, if required.

After clicking Check in, customers see a summary page with the check-in date and time:

  • The store can choose whether the booking details show on the summary page
  • Customers cannot return to the check-in page after checking in

Image

Check-In Updates

Customer updates appear in the GTX booking after saving or check-in.

Image

To review updates:

  • Refresh the Business Planner
  • Open the booking
    • Changes to customer details are saved to the booking
    • The customer's notes and answers are added to the booking Notes section at the bottom-right, below any existing notes
    • If the customer has checked in, the Status changes to Vehicle received

Customer Signatures

Customer signatures are added to work orders as attachments:

  • A green A in the Attachments column of the Business Planner shows a signature is attached (if no other attachments already existed)

Image

To view the signature:

  • Open the booking
  • Click on the Work Order button at the bottom of the booking pop-up

Image

  • Click on the Attachments button at the top of the Work Order window

Image

  • Open the attachment with the Type CUSTSIG

Image

To change whether the signature prints on the order invoice, please contact the Megabus Support Team.

Web Portal

Log in to the web portal to view check-ins and send links.

See Accessing the Web Portal for the login steps.

Viewing Self Check-Ins

The Self Check-Ins page shows the reminders that have been sent and the check-in status of each booking.

Image

To access the page:

  • Select Appointments in the menu on the left
  • Select Self Check-Ins

Image

The Activity list shows the Customer, Vehicle, Booking and Status of each booking:

  • Link sent shows a check-in link has been sent
  • Dropped off/Checked-in shows the customer has checked in

Select bookings to view their details in the panel on the right

Image

Sending Check-In Links

Check-in links can also be sent directly from the web portal.

Image

To send check-in links:

  • Click the Send Check-In Links button at the top right of the Self check-ins page
  • Select the Booking Date
  • Select Send By method
  • Tick the customers to send links to
  • Click Send Links
    • Or click Close to close the window without sending

Image