--- title: "Merging Customers | Marlin Customers" slug: "merging-customers" description: "Learn about Merging Customers in Marlin Tyre and Mechanical Workshop Software by Megabus." tags: ["Marlin Workshop"] updated: 2024-07-19T04:49:03Z published: 2024-07-19T04:49:03Z canonical: "help.megabus.com.au/merging-customers" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.megabus.com.au/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Merging Customers **Marlin Tyre and Mechanical Workshop Software** enables the merging of customer master files to help manage customer information. The merge process deactivates a selected customer within the Marlin system, and reassigns the records of their **Customer Orders**, **Enquiries/Bookings**, **Follow-Ups** and **Electronic Payments** to another existing vehicle within the Marlin system. **Attachments**, **Comments**, **Transactions** and **Archive Data** will also be transferred to the merged customer, while still remaining associated with the deactivated one. All other information will not be transferred and will remain with the original, deactivated customer, whose record can still be viewed by setting the Customers Search list filter to **Inactive**. Note For users to merge customers, they must have the **Merge Customers** [permission](https://help.megabus.com.au/docs/users#user-permissions) enabled. ## Merging Customers To merge a customer, first open the Customers Master File (accessible by selecting **Master Files > Customers > Customers** from the menu bar). The Customers module will open on the **Search** list, showing a list of active customers within the Marlin system. Locate the customer you want to deactivate and merge into another and select it in the Search list. With the customer selected, click on the **Merge** button at the top-right of the module window. Note For customers to be merged, they must: - Be **active**. - Be a **Person** or **Business** type customer. - Have **no outstanding deposits**. - Have **no unallocated transactions** on their account. - Have **no draft customer payments**. The **Merge** pop-up window will open, showing a list of customers the selected customer can be merged with. Select the customer you want to merge the original customer with and click on the **Select** button at the bottom of the pop-up window. Another **Merge** pop-up window will open, showing the details of the selected customers. To merge the customers, click on the **Merge** button at the bottom-right of the pop-up window. A pop-up window will open advising that the merge cannot be undone. To complete the merge and return to the Search list, click on the **Yes** button at the bottom-right. Note If attempting to merge a customer that has already been merged with another, an additional pop-up window will open, warning that the attachments, comments, transactions and archive data from both customers will become visible on all three. To proceed with the merger, click on the **Continue** button at the bottom-right, which will open the list of customers to merge with. Tip Once merged, the **Audit Logs** for both customers will show which customer they have been merged with. > Note The From customer's transactions will be greyed out in the merged customer's transactions list.