---
title: "User Profiles | Marlin Settings"
slug: "user-accounts"
description: "Learn about User Profiles in Marlin Tyre and Mechanical Workshop Software by Megabus."
updated: 2024-11-14T05:51:56Z
published: 2024-11-14T05:51:56Z
canonical: "help.megabus.com.au/user-accounts"
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.megabus.com.au/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# User Profiles

**Marlin Tyre and Mechanical Workshop Software** allows different users and user roles to be set up with varying levels of access.

A user's level of access to Marlin is determined by their assigned **Roles**, which determine what permissions are enabled for them.

To view or edit users, select **System > Company > Users** from the menu bar.

The Users module will open on the Search window, showing a list of **active** users.

          Tip

          

The filter to the top-right can be used to show inactive users.

## Adding Users

#### System > Company > Users

To the top-right of the Users window, click on the **Add** action button.

          Tip

          

Similar users can be easily created by selecting an existing rule and clicking the Clone action button to the top-right. A duplicate of the existing user will be created, which can then be updated with the details of the new user.

The add window will open on the **Details** window, which contains a form for creating a new user.

The **General** section on the left is used to specify information about the user.

Use the **Type** filter to select the user type:

- **Normal** users are individual user profiles. Even if someone does not usually log into Marlin individually, creating a Normal user profile allows them to be assigned as the sales person on bookings and transactions using Shared user logins.
- **Shared** users are shared logins that can be used where a Marlin client is used by multiple staff members (e.g. a "Front Counter" log in).

          Note

          

Users will be required to enter their individual password to confirm certain actions, such as editing master files and committing or cancelling customer and supplier orders.

- **Integration Partners** are used to give third party services access to Marlin.

In the **Name** textbox, enter a name for the user as it will appear within the Marlin system.

In the **Username** textbox, enter the name the user will use to log into Marlin system.

In the textbox,

An **Employee Number** and **E-Mail** address can be entered can be entered in the fields below, if applicable.

          Note

          

User E-Mail addresses are required for certain functions such as [supplier payment approvals](/workshop/docs/supplier-payment-approvals) and [journal approvals](/workshop/docs/journal-entry-approvals).

For Normal users who usually log in with a Shared account, the **Notification Destination** picker can be used to redirect their [Comment](/workshop/docs/booking-and-order-comments) notifications to the Shared User.

In the **Password** textbox, enter the password the user will use to log into the Marlin system.

The **Reset** checkbox is used to reset existing user passwords and should be left blank if a password is assigned during creation.

          Tip

          

Rather than assigning a new password during creation, new users can be assigned a dummy password and then prompted to create their own password when logging in by ticking the Reset checkbox.

          Note

          

Once logged in, user passwords can also be changed by selecting **Change Password** from the Tools menu.

If [discount limits](/workshop/docs/discount-limits) are enabled, the **Discount Limit** picker can be used to select a discount limit group to apply to the user.

Use the **[Roles](/workshop/docs/users#user-roles)** checkboxes to assign one or more roles to the user from the list of active user roles.

          Note

          

If users are assigned a role that allows a permission as well as another one that does not, then the permission will be enabled for the user.

Leave the **Active** checkbox ticked to enable the new user within the Marlin system.

User **Branch** and **Reporting Category** settings can be set using the lists to the right of and below the General section.

To save the user and return to the Search list, click on the **Save** action button to the top-right.

### User Branch Settings

#### System > Company > Users > [User] > Details

The **Branches** list on the right is used to specify the user's access to different branches.

To enable the user to log into a branch, tick the relevant **Login** checkbox.

Once the user is activated, the **Last Log In** column will show the date the user last logged into the relevant branch.

To enable the user to be selected as a sales person for a branch, tick the relevant **Sales Person** checkbox.

To enable the user to be selected as a technician for a branch, tick the relevant **Technician** checkbox.

          Note

          

Ticking the checkbox next to the heading of the **Login**, **Sales Person** or **Technician** column will enable the relevant function for the user across all Branches.

### User Reporting Categories

#### System > Company > Users > [User] > Details

The **[Reporting Categories](/workshop/docs/reporting-categories)** list at the bottom-left of the Users window can be used to assign a reporting group to the user, if desired.

To assign the user to a reporting group, click on the **Reporting Group** cell next to the relevant reporting category name and use the picker that appears to select a reporting group.

## Shared Users

Shared user logins can be set up for when a single Marlin client is used by multiple staff members (e.g. a shared "Front Counter" log in).

To create a Shared user, set the **Type** dropdown to shared when [adding a new user](https://help.megabus.com.au/docs/users#adding-users).

Shared users cannot be assigned to orders as salespeople or technicians, so individual user profiles still need to be added for any salespeople or technicians, even if they only log in using the shared user.

          Tip

          

Existing users can be converted to shared users by opening their user profile in **Edit** mode and setting the **Type** drop-down to **Shared**. However, they will have to be disabled as salespeople and technicians for all branches before they can be saved, which can be quickly done by unticking the checkboxes next to the **Sales Person** and **Technician** headings in the Branches table on the right of their user Details tab.

For auditing purposes, users are required to enter their individual user passwords when performing certain actions, such as editing master files or committing or cancelling customer or supplier orders.

When these actions are performed by a shared user, an **Authorise** pop-up window will open, prompting the user to select their individual user profile from a list of salespeople, and then enter their individual password in the textbox below.

In order to authorise these actions the user must therefore also be assigned as a salesperson at the appropriate branch.

Records of salesperson authorisations can be viewed in the **Audit Logs** of the relevant records.

## Locked User Accounts

Users will be locked out Marlin after too many failed login attempts and will need to contact their system administrator (or other authorised user) to reinstate their access.

The **Account Locked** checkbox of the relevant user profile will become ticked and they will be unable to login until a user with appropriate permissions unticks it.

          Note

          

The default number of login attempts before a user is locked out is four. To change the number of allowed login attempts, please [contact the Megabus Support Team](https://www.megabus.com.au/support).

### Unlocking User Accounts

#### System > Company > Users > [User] > Details

Users with appropriate [permissions](/workshop/docs/users#user-permissions) can unlock other users' accounts by opening their user in edit mode and unticking the **Account Locked** checkbox in their Details tab.

          Tip

          

The user can also be requested to [reset their password](/workshop/docs/users#resetting-user-passwords) at the same time as unlocking it by ticking the **Reset** checkbox below.
